Regional Transportation Coordinating Council Grant

What is an RTCC?

A Regional Transportation Coordinating Council (RTCC) is a local organization focused on delivering effective transportation. With support from Minnesota Council on Transportation Access (MCOTA), Minnesota Department of Transportation (MnDOT), and Minnesota Department of Human Services, an RTCC is established to improve transit access and coordination for people of all ages and abilities. Download the project fact sheet to learn more.

What will an RTCC do? 

An RTCC will work to address the challenges of the current transit system. The RTCC will oversee coordination between transportation providers, service agents, and the private sector in order to fill transportation gaps, streamline access to transportation, and increase options of where and when to travel.

What is Three Rivers' role in RTCC?

Three Rivers Community Action is acting on behalf of a regional Steering Committee as the primary grantee for the first year of the RTCC initiative in southeast Minnesota. Three Rivers is administering the funds for the year one planning grant to create an RTCC, but RTCC is not an initiative of Three Rivers. Priorities and actions of the RTCC are driven by the Steering Committee and regional stakeholders because RTCC is meant to be an independent entity. Three Rivers staff participate as a steering committee members, along with other members listed below.  


Please share your perspective on local transit needs and concerns. Support and input from local agencies, organizations, and users of the transportation system is critical to successful implementation.

Two rounds of workshops are planned. The same meeting will happen several times in the large geographic area of the RTCC. Attend the meeting in each round that works best for you!

Workshop Round #1

Purpose of these meetings: Introduce SE MN RTCC and review current transportation conditions. Summarize benefits of SE MN RTCC and review goals and objectives of SE MN RTCC. Discuss work plan and leadership for SE MN RTCC implementation for initial 2 years of operation.

  • Wednesday, February 13 from 4-6 PM. 125 Live 125 Elton Hills Dr NW, Rochester, MN  55901
  • Tuesday, February 19 from 3-5 PM. Owatonna Public Utilities Building – Morehouse Meeting Room 208 Walnut Ave S, Owatonna, MN 55060
  • Thursday, February 21 from 4-6 PM. Winona City Hall – Third Floor 207 Lafayette St, Winona, MN 55987
  • Tuesday, February 26 from 4-6 PM. Northfield Public Library 210 Washington Street Northfield, MN 55057

February workshop PowerPoints

February workshop feedback

Workshop Round #2

Purpose of these meetings: Highlight funding strategy and partnership opportunities, prioritize work plan and leadership for SE MN RTCC implementation for initial 2 years of operation. Review local match for funding and partnership opportunities.

  • Wednesday, March 13 from 4-6 PM. 125 Live 125 Elton Hills Dr NW, Rochester, MN  55901
  • Monday, March 18 from 4-6 PM. Albert Lea City Hall 221 E Clark St., Albert Lea, MN 56007. 
  • Tuesday, March 19 from 4-6 PM. Northfield Public Library 210 Washington Street Northfield, MN 55057
  • Wednesday, March 27 from 4-6 PM. Winona City Hall – Third Floor 207 Lafayette St, Winona, MN 55987

If you could not attend the upcoming meetings or would like to share additional information, please contact any of the Steering Committee members listed below.

What progress has been made thus far?

Steering Committee Meetings

The Steering Committee has met several times. Meeting notes can be downloaded for public review:

Public Meeting Feedback

The Southeast MN RTCC Planning team presented at the November 2018 Southeast Minnesota Together convening (see notes here). See the Upcoming Events section for details on upcoming meetings.

RTCC Planning Steering Committee

Three Rivers, as the primary recipient of funds for the RTCC project, has convened a small, temporary project Steering Committee to assist with the ramp up for this Year 1 RTCC project. (A more robust and comprehensive Governing Board or other advisory structure will be required for full implementation of the RTCC in following years.) The start-up Steering Committee members are:


Email Address


Laurie Brownell

Southeastern Minnesota Area Agency on Aging (SEMAA)

Brian Carlson


Melissa Cummins

Southeastern Minnesota Center for Independent Living (SEMCIL)

Jerry Gabrielatos

City of Albert Lea

Chris Giesen

Community & Economic Development Associates (CEDA)

Sandi Goslee

Rochester-Olmsted Council of Governments (ROCOG)

Kelly Harder

Dakota County Transportation Coordinating Council

Garry Hart

Cedar Valley Services

Tracy Holguin

Three Rivers Community Action

Joe Jacobson Rochester City Lines

Representative TBD

TBD Rochester Public Transit

Adam Lorentz La Crosse Municipal Transit

Jean Meyer MnDOT

Monica Hennessy Mohan City of Winona
Jennifer Prins

Three Rivers Community Action

Sue Seimers


Noel Shughart MnDOT

Wayne Stenberg Southeast Minnesota Community Action Agency (Semcac)

Jim Wolter Southeast Minnesota Community Action Agency (Semcac)